Professor Thomas J. Meade Northwestern University Eileen M. Foell Endowed Professor of Cancer Research and

Professor of Chemistry, Professor of Molecular Biosciences, Professor of Neurobiology, Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Professor of Radiology Director of the Center for Advanced Molecular Imaging

Education

Postdoctoral Research Fellow. California Institute of Technology, 1987-89. Advisor: Professor Harry B. Gray.

National Institutes of Health Postdoctoral Fellow. Harvard Medical School and the Massachusetts General Hospital, 1985-1987. Advisor: Professor Thomas J. Brady.

Ph.D. in Inorganic Chemistry, The Ohio State University; Columbus, Ohio,1985. Dissertation Advisor: Professor Daryle H. Busch.

M.S. in Chemistry (Division of Biochemistry), The Ohio State University, Columbus Ohio, 1982. Thesis Advisor: Professor Perry A. Frey.

B.S. with Honors in Chemistry, Arizona State University; Tempe, Arizona, May, 1979. Honors Thesis Advisor: Professor Therald Moellar.

Professional Experience

Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Northwestern University, (2011- present)

Director: Center for Advanced Molecular Imaging, Northwestern U. (2006-present)

Professor of Chemistry; Molecular Biosciences, Neurobiology and Radiology; Northwestern University (2002- present)

Senior Research Faculty, Division of Biology and the Beckman Institute, California Institute of Technology, (1991-2002).

Research Interests

Chemistry of Life Sciences, bioinorganic chemistry, biological molecular imaging with particular emphasis on: Inorganic Chemistry, Electron Transfer Mechanisms, and Inhibition of Transcription Factors.

Honors and Awards

The World Molecular Imaging Society Gold Medal, 2020 George Fisher Baker Lecturer, Cornell University, 2019 Stony Brook Franklin Award Lecture, 2017 Elected Fellow, National Academy of Inventors 2016 Elected Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry, 2016

The J. Stieglitz Award: The University of Chicago and the ACS, 2016

Elected Fellow, American Association of Advancement of Science, 2015

Catalyst Award, Northwestern University and City of Evanston, 2014

Duke University Hill Lecturer, 2014

World Molecular Imaging Society Fellow, 2012

American Chemical Society Fellow, 2011

Faculty Honor Roll, Associated Student Government, NU, 2008 & 2011

Society for Molecular Imaging Annual Exceptional Achievement Award, 2010

Musselman Award for Visiting Scientist, 2010

Illinois Biotechnology Industry Organization (iBIO) iCON Innovator Award, 2009

Miller Fellow, University of California Berkeley, 2009

Faculty Honor Roll, Associated Student Government, Northwestern University. 2008

Northwestern University Excellence in Teaching Award, 2008

William Beaumont Award: Wayne County Medical Society, 2007

Allen & Constance Ford Distinguished Award, CWR University, 2006

Eileen Foell Chair in Cancer Research, Northwestern University, 2005

Elected President – Society of Molecular Imaging 2005

FMC Award - Princeton University, 2004

Elkin Distinguished Investigators Cancer Award, Emory University, 2003

Frontier Lecturer, Texas A&M University, 2003

Neuroscience Award, Society for NeuroOncology

National Academy of Engineering Lecturer, Cleveland, Ohio, 2000

Pendergast Lecturer, University of Pennsylvania, 1999

American College of Neuropharmacology Lecturer, 1999

Grubstakes Award, Direct Detection of Gene Expression via MRI

Watson Lecturer, Caltech, 1997

NIH Postdoctoral Research Fellow, 1986

National Research Service Award, Harvard Medical School, 1985

B.S. in Chemistry with Honors Thesis, 1979

Professional Service

Board of Scientific Counselors for NIBIB, 2019

Founder: Sequester LLC, 2019

Tianjin University International Advisory Board-Health Science Platform, 2019

Elected: NU Faculty Senate, Chair Research Affairs, 2016-2019

Associate Editor, Chemical Science, 2015-

Inorganic Chemistry Division Chair, Northwestern University, 2015-

ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry, Bioinorganic Subdivision Chair, 2014

Dean's Advisory Council Member: School of Pharmaceutical Science and Technology, Tianjin University: 2013-2016.

recimology, rianjin cinversity. 2015 2010.

NIH Intramural Review Board (NIBIB) 2011-2015

International Advisory Board, WIREs Nanomedicine and Nanotech., 2014-2016

Editorial Board, Theranostics, 2012-

SBCA Study Section Member, 2007-2011

Founder, Ohmx Inc., Evanston, IL, 2005-

Co-Founder: Chemistry of Life Processes Institute, NU, 2004-

Founder: PreDx Inc. 2004

Editorial Advisory Board: Accounts of Chemical Research, 2002-

Editorial Advisory Board: Inorganic Chemistry, 1999-

Program Workshop Chair, CTEP drug development program, NCI, 1999-2000

Editorial Advisory Board: Bioconjugate Chemistry, 1999-

Founder: Imaging in 2020; National Cancer Institute and NIBIB; 1999-present

Founder and CEO, Metaprobe Inc. Pasadena, CA. 1998-

Chairmen: After The Genome IV Conference; 1998

Guest Editor: Coordination Chemistry Review, 1998-99

Cofounder and CSO, Clinical Micro Sensors Inc., Pasadena, CA. 1995.

Founder; "Seeing is Believing: A Classroom Tour of the Sciences." 1995.

Affiliations

American Chemical Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Royal Society of Chemistry, International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine, Sigma Chi Honorary Research Society, Alpha Chi Sigma, New York Academy of Sciences, World Molecular Imaging Society.

Publications

211 peer reviewed publications and 6 book chapters.

Patents

93 United States Issued Patents and 31 pending (> 300 Foreign Filings).

Invited/Plenary/Keynote Lectures at National & International Conferences:

261 Lectures in the United States, Europe and Asia

Invited Academic and Industrial Presentations:

198 invited academic and industrial lectures

Founder and Co-Founder of Five Biotechnology Companies:

Clinical MicroSensors, Metabprobe, Predx Inc., Ohmx, LLC and Sequester LLC. (1995-present)